There are still gentlemen on this earth

So yesterday I had to go from Brooklyn, where I live, into Manhattan, for a job interview. I don’t know yet if I got the job, they have other people to interview & yadda yada they expect to make a decision by the end of the week. That’s not even the point. The point is that to get to & from the interview, I had to use the New York City subway, & in general I love using the subway about as much as I love having a root canal. My interview was at 4:30 pm, so coming home from the interview, the train was packed with people commuting home from work. I got on & figured I’d stand all the way to Brooklyn. So you can imagine how utterly befuddled I was when a man I’d never seen before in my life GOT UP AND OFFERED ME HIS SEAT. Especially since earlier this week I commented on a post on here about how no one has any manners anymore. Well, I was happy to have been proven wrong, and I’m happy to be able to say that at least that one man is a gentleman, and so maybe there’s hope for society.

One thought on “There are still gentlemen on this earth

Leave a comment