I want to lay in the vineyard where summer wine is made

Nearly twenty years ago (was it really that long) a college-aged me toured a Tuscan vineyard (owned by the Marquis d’Antinori) with a bunch of classmates as part of a study abroad program.  They wore sneakers as we walked among the grapes & they thought me fucking ludacris when I took my sandals off & squelched my bare toes in the moist earth.  “What are you doing” they wanted to know.

I would strip naked and lay down here if I could

I said, thinking who the hell are they to tell me how to be at one with nature.  Of course I didn’t actually strip, not for those prudes (they wouldn’t have appreciated it) but on a nice day like today, I think I might like to go back to the vineyard and lay, and be laid, in the moist, rich, fertile soil.  

One thought on “I want to lay in the vineyard where summer wine is made

Leave a Reply

