1 Liner Wednesday: Really Short Story

Some of you may know that i’m sober (my sober date is 11/27/12). About a year before I got sober, I was unceremoniously fired from a good job for, (you guessed it) being drunk at work.

Step nine (of The Twelve Steps) says those of us in recovery have to make amends to those we have wronged. This morning, I wrote a long-overdue letter of apology to my former employer. In it, i apologized for not only the day I showed up to work shitfaced but also every day before that…all the days I was a crap employee because I was hungover at work, because i didn’t care about the job, my boss’ reputation with his clients, whether or not the paperwork got done…I didn’t care for or about myself other than where and when my next drink would be, and I bared all of that in the letter to my former employee.

I don’t expect him to hire me back. I don’t expect him to forgive me. It’s been four and a half years since drunk me was fired out of there. Surely my job belongs to somebody else by now. I threw that letter into the mailbox on my way to a twelve step meeting this afternoon because make amends is the right thing, is what a sober, mature person does, regardless of whether the other person forgives me.

3 thoughts on “1 Liner Wednesday: Really Short Story

  1. It’s good that you are trying to make amends and show that you have changed even if they do not hire you again they will know you are now a different person ! ūüôā keep it up !

    Like

Leave a Reply

