Love yourself challenge 

Day 20–Spend 15 minutes in silence focusing on one positive attribute of yourself.  Write about it.

I don’t show up to every argument I’m invited to.  See, my two younger sisters had words between them (I didn’t get in the middle), my mother inserted herself and took a side (and by her doing so, what started as an argument between sisters became a war that goes from Brooklyn to Garden City to Greenport, NY and will never end), and my mother looked for me to take her side.  I opted to remain neutral, as these arguments are fucking exhausting and no one ever wins. 

Now there was a time when I would have shown up to such an argument, taken sides, taken both sides and had fun with it.  But I’ve come to realize no good comes of it, and someone’s got to be the (reasonably) sane one.  

Leave a Reply

