30 Days of Submission/Being Little

Day 12: Do you include financial submission within the definition of your own submission, and, if yes, how does it manifest itself?  If no, is there a particular reason why?  Are you familiar with the concept of financial submission?  Do you have an opinion about financial submission in general?

Financial submission, as I know it (which, admittedly, isn’t all that well) is where the submissive gives the Dominant all of his/her (the sub’s) money & the Dominant decides how that money should be spent/invested…the Dominant then gives the submissive an allowance.

I’ve never had that in any of my past relationships, and, in all honesty, I don’t know if it’s for me.  My parents have sort of a system of financial submission in their marriage, wherein my father works (ok, they BOTH work) but my father gives my mother all of his income (cashes his check & turns it over to her) but she, rather than give him a regular allowance, gives him nothing…Oh she makes the decisions about how the money is spent/invested, but my father is walking around with nothing in his wallet.  He’ll tell her he needs gas in his car & she hands him $40 (he drives a suburban) and tell him to “bring back change” and when he gets back, she pesters him for her change until he gives it over.  If he says the tank was on E and it took the whole $40, she searches his pockets to see if he’s hiding money from her.

Watching the two of them like that, I grew up with this idea that I maybe shouldn’t trust someone who takes my money from me (it didn’t help when I got my first job in high school, my mother took the money and I never saw it again), and yeah, I realize I have to work on my trust issues.  A good D/s relationship should be built on trust and communication, and so maybe I need to work on myself.  These are things to think about, to discuss with a potential partner.

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Submission/Being Little

Leave a Reply

