So the VMAs were this weekend…

…and those of us who watched saw Nicki Minaj share the stage with her own ample backside (and taylor Swift); we also saw The Weeknd (who has interesting hair) put on an impressive pyrotechnic display; we saw Kanye West win a vanguard award & rant about a plan to make a bid for the White House (does Mr. West make music anymore or does he just go off on ridiculous rants?)

https://youtu.be/vsl3gBVO2k4

I show you this video of Queen playing Bohemian Rhapsody live (and NO, it wasn’t filmed yesterday, last week, last monty, or even within the last 20 years) because as I watched the VMAs, I couldn’t help but wonder where Nicki Minaj, Taylor Swift, The Weeknd, and Kanye West will be in five or ten years.  I mean, I’m not an idiot, I know that the physical remains of Freddie Mercury reached their final resting place (somewhere in India, I believe) in the early ’90s, but his music (music he wrote and performed) lives on to this very day.  Bohemian Rhapsody, Another One Bites the Dust, and We Will Rock You, to name a few, are songs that have been covered by tribute bands, singers in dive bars, boozed up college kids doing karoke, and who knows who all else.  They’re songs most people know at least SOME of the words to, songs people ’round the world recognize when they hear them played.

So you tell me, do you think ten, or even five years from now, we’ll hear some singer in a bar launch into I Can’t Feel My Face, or Bad Blood, and we’ll all go “Fuck yeah, this one’s a classic” and immediately start singing along?

Leave a Reply

