Thankful Thursday

So yesterday I saw, and agreed with, a post on here about how America is a country of convenience.  And while we have thanksgiving Day (y’know, the day with the football games, the turkey, & the Macy’s Day Parade) we don’t spend all that much time being grateful for all we have, including the conveniences.  I may not say it often, but I really am grateful for the fact that I live someplace where the subway trains are air conditioned (even if the platform is a hot, humid, sauna in July) because people in other parts of the world don’t have a subway, they’re riding bicycles everywhere in the heat and they don’t complain about it.  I’m grateful to live in a place where I have air conditioning in my house, because I couldn’t imagine putting my makeup on in July or August without air conditioning.  I know, there are parts of the world where a woman has to wear a burqa in much worse heat than New York City heat, and I wish those women had the convenience to take that thing off and wear some linen slacks and a blouse, or a sundress.  Yes, America is a country of convenience, and yes, some people elsewhere in the world think we Americans are lazy for our conveniences (yeah, I said it) but maybe we’d appear less lazy, less selfish, if we were all a bit more thankful for that which we do have.  It’s just a thought.

Leave a Reply

